This is the original Great Northern Railway's Clontarf Station, sited on the Howth Road in Dublin's northern suburbs, just north of the present day Clontarf Rd Station. The GNR opened the halt in the early 1920s and was typical of the type built for suburban stations, with wooden up and down platforms along with waiting rooms. There was also once a signal cabin located on the down platform but was taken out of use by the GNR when Killester cabin took over the section of signalling from East Wall Junction (near Connolly).
Clontarf was never a busy halt and was closed by the GNR in 1956. The station masters house, and a one time office for Amiens Street remains and boasts typical GNR architecture. Both gate entrances which led from road level up to the station remain, but the up side is currently brick up. The up side still retains stone steps, which led up to the wooden platforms. Only the concrete base of the up waiting shelter remains at rail level, and is located beside a colour light signal, all other buildings have long since been demolished.