Tullow, Co.Carlow, was the terminus of a 34 mile branch line which diverged from main Dublin to Cork line at Sallins. The branch was opened in stages in 1885 and 1886 by the Great Southern & Western Railway. The long branch line was never heavily used and passenger services on the route were suspended in 1944 following coal shortages. It reopened briefly only to be closed to regular passenger and goods traffic in 1947. The line to Tullow remained open however for occasional cattle specials before finally closing completely in April 1959. Today, all that remains of Tullow Station, which once boasted a train shed, is the stone built goods shed, complete with wooden canopy and GSWR station masters house. All other buildings have been demolished, including the 12-lever signal cabin, and an industrial estate occupies the site. You can see some fascinating pictures of Tullow Station before demolition on Disused Stations UK website.
The trees to the left obscure the original part of the GSWR's station masters house at Tullow, the part seen here is an extension, though very similar to the original design. The site of Tullow Station, now a small industrial complex. In the distance can be seen the small goods shed. These view is looking north towards Sallins. The former goods shed seen here (stone building with brick surrounds), complete with wooden canopy, is all that remains of the former Tullow Station.