Arigna was the terminus of the Cavan & Leitrim branch line from Ballinamore, which was largely a roadside tramway. The station was some distance from the village of Arigna, and was sited on the R285 road. The single storey concrete station building at Argina was built in 1925 to replace an earlier wooden structure dating from the opening in 1888. The station had a run-round loop, siding and goods store. The C&L line survived until 1959, mainly because of the coal deposits found at the Arigna mines. In 1920, the line was extended to Derreenavoggy to serve the coal mines, this line left the station and crossed the R285 road.
Today, the station at Arigna is derelict, and the railway side is completely overgrown. One of the level crossing gate posts on the R285 road survive and the trackbed to the mine is now a pathway. The mines at Arigna ceased operation in 1990, and today they are tourist attraction that is well worth a visit. See the Arigna Mining Experience.