Kilcock, on the border between Co.Dublin and Co.Meath, is located on the main Dublin to Sligo line between Maynooth and Enfield. The station was opened by the Midland Great Western Railway in July 1848, but was closed to passengers in 1947 and completely in 1963. The station still retains its derelict single storey MGWR building, typical of the type built on the line to Mullingar, as well as the goods shed and its unique staggered platforms. The brick base of the signal cabin also remains, a reminder that although the station was closed, it was a block post with a passing loop until the early 1970s. With growing suburban traffic a new single platform station was opened in Kilcock in 1999, but it is located more conveniently in the centre of the village.