Ballyhaunis, Co.Mayo, was first served by rail in 1861 when the Midland Great Northern Railway, later taken over by the Midland Great Western, opened their line between Athlone and Claremorris. Ballyhaunis boasts up & down platforms, with the single storey stone built station building on the up side, complete with canopy, and MGWR brick built signal cabin on the down side, now no longer in use. The original MGWR footbridge also survives. At the north end of the station is the former goods shed and yard. Mechanical signalling on the Mayo lines was replaced in recent years by the Centralised Traffic Control from Dublin.